Web Analytics Made Easy - Statcounter
 

Profile

Join date: Mar 22, 2022

About

Hello, I'm Allison Zidkovich from Borden, SK, originally from a small village named Edenwold where I grew up on a grain farm. I work full-time in finance for the Correctional Service of Canada-CORCAN in Saskatoon. Right now due to COVID I am lucky to work at home and be with my two daschuds all day. My husband works in the oil feild in Alberta as a Driller and is gone a lot.

I have always loved gardening, but I really got into it when my husband and I moved to our five acre acreage in 2013. The first year we built a 50'x60' garden with a 8' fence around it to keep the deer out. We have lots of deer! I planted a giant vegetable garden that year and it was amazing. It really made me think about how much I loved working in the dirt.


Every year since I have always tried to grow something new to add to my garden that wasn't mainstream like Indian corn, eggplant, and red Kari.... Two years ago I started growing a few flowers such as zinias, poppies, every herb possible and borage. I loved it, I loved it so much that last year I bought three times more flowers seeds/bulbs to plant and gave away lots of bouquets as well as selling online. I also built a strawberry patch on my yard last year, again with a tall fence to keep the deer out.


My goals this year are to do a full scale small flower garden, and grow specialty gourds and pumpkins that you generally wouldn't be able to buy in stores. I want to start a social media platform, but I'm nervous about the amount of time that would be involved.

I'm also trying to figure out a name for my small business. I want it to be something that's really personal to me, but I'm really struggling to make something work.

I have started sewing seeds in trays already, bought some new grow lights and I have been sorting seeds and documenting when to plant them for plant 2021!

Allison

More actions